Christmas
& New Year

Join the BSO in a feast of festive concerts guaranteed to make your Christmas and New Year extra special. From family concerts with Alasdair Malloy to all-time favourites in the Last Night of the Christmas Proms, and traditional Christmas carols to the glittering waltzes of Johann Strauss, there really is something for everyone.

Handel's Messiah

The Messiah isn't so much an oratorio, more a national institution. Every note, including the Hallelujah Chorus, is inspired and spiritually uplifting.

Lighthouse, Poole Wednesday 18 December 7.30pm
Great Hall, Exeter Thursday 19 December 7.30pm

Last Night of the Christmas Proms

It's the most wonderful time of the year! And to celebrate, we bring you the ultimate Christmas Cracker: an all-singing, all-swinging seasonal spectacular featuring your Christmas musical favourites. Watch the video on this page for a preview of what awaits.

Guildhall, Portsmouth Friday 20 December 7.30pm
Lighthouse, Poole Saturday 21 December 7.30pm

Celebration of Christmas Carols

It wouldn't be Christmas without the BSO's traditional carols concert. Be ready to join in with the singing!

Lighthouse, Poole Monday 23 December 7.30pm


New Year Johann Strauss Gala

Experience the elegance and grandeur of Vienna and escape to a world of glittering dance-halls in a concert filled with memorable melodies. With the power of a full symphony orchestra, this is Strauss as it should be heard.

Colston Hall, Bristol Monday 30 December 7.30pm
Lighthouse, Poole Wednesday 1 January 3.00pm & 7.30pm
Great Hall, Exeter Thursday 2 January 7.30pm
Pavilion, Weymouth Thursday 9 January 7.30pm
Riviera Centre, Torbay Friday 10 January 7.30pm
Guildhall, Southampton Saturday 11 January 7.30pm

Cookies

The cookie settings on this website are set to ‘allow all cookies’. Leaving your settings to ‘allow all cookies’ means you consent to a website remembering your preferences and generally enhancing the user experience. If you prefer a website to not remember your preferences, you can change your settings at any time by changing the privacy settings of your browser.

Find out more about cookies >